Past Grand Jurors Association, San Diego

Promotes the continuity of effort by succeeding grand juries in order to increase the effectiveness of the grand jury system; Study and make recommendations with regard to local, civic, governmental and institutional affairs; Encourage and otherwise assist in efforts directed toward the betterment of the communities of San Diego County; Involve it in such other activities deemed by the Association to be in the public interest; Maintain personal contact of past grand jurors through opportunities for interaction at Association meetings and activities. 
Membership:  Any person who has served as a member of a regular San Diego County Grand Jury and who has paid current Association dues shall be a member.  Any person who resigned or was removed for cause by Action of the Court, or who served solely as a member of any criminal grand jury shall not be eligible.
Each month we invite speakers from a vast local, civic, governmental and institutional agencies to come speak at our monthly association meetings. All current and past grand jurors, or invited guests, are welcome to join us for monthly luncheon and guest speaker meeting, first Wednesday of each month. For years we met at the Hunter Steakhouse in Mission Valley before and after of the closure of the pandemic when we met virtually.  We then relocated to Bully's East Restaurant and we outgrew the size of the room.
Change is inevitable and our new location is POINT LOMA CAFE, there is ample parking at 4865 N Harbor Dr, San Diego, CA 92106. Our meetings start at 11AM, lunch is $22 per person.
If you would like to contact us regarding our association or for information regarding our associaton meetings, please "click" on the  "Contact Us" tab and send us a message.



July 7, 2021 - No meeting


August 4, 2021 - Paul Parker, Head of the County’s Law Enforcement Review Board


September 1, 2021 - Judge Alksne, Presiding Judge of the Superior Court


October 6, 2021 - Mr. Paul Downey, the President and CEO of “Serving Seniors”


November 3, 2021 - Ms. Laura Nicks, San Diego Grand Jury
December 1, 2021 - Deputy District Attorney Valerie Summers
January 5, 2022 - Cancelled
February 2, 2022 - Michael Vu - San Diego County Assistant Chief Administrative Officer
March 2, 2022 - Dr. Doris Trauner - Child neurology and neuro-scientific investigations
April 6, 2022 - Dave Myers - Retired San Diego Sheriff's Department Commander
May 4, 2022 - Andrew Strong, Director of the Office of Equity and Racial Justice
June 1, 2022 - Kelly Martinez, Undersheriff, County of San Diego Sheriff's Department
July 6, 2022 - Chris Megison, cofounder and CEO of Solutions for Change.
August 3, 2022 - James Mendelson, Foreman San Diego County Grand Jury 2011-2022
September 6, 2022 - Cancelled - MOVE DAY
October 5, 2022 - SANDAG
November 2, 2022 - City of San Diego, Third District Council Member Stephen Whitburn
December 7, 2022  -  Dr. Lamont Jackson, SD Unified School District Superintendent
January 4, 2023 - MOVED TO JANUARY 11, 2023 - Stephen Moore, Voices for Children
February 1, 2023 - Michael Kulis, Director of Policy, Office of Supervisor Joel Anderson, County of San Diego
March 1, 2023 - Dustin Nelson, San Diego Sheriff's Department, RESPECT Project
April 5, 2023 - Natalia Bravo, Chief of Staff to Helen Robbins-Meyer, CAO County of San Diego
May 3, 2023 -  Patrick Steward, CEO of the San Diego Library Foundation
June 7, 2023 - TBD
July 5, 2023 - Edward Lopatin, Foreman San Diego County Grand Jury 2022-2023
August 2, 2023 - Bernie Colon, Assistant Chief of San Diego Police Department
September 6, 2023 - Shreya Shah Sasaki, Senior Director, Jewish Family Services
October 4, 2023 - Angela Shafter-Payne, VP & Chief Development Officer, San Diego International Airport
November 1, 2023 - Judge Michael T. Smyth, San Diego Superior Court’s Presiding Judge since January 1, 2022
December 6, 2023 - Claire LeBeau, CEO, STAR/PAL
January 10, 2024 - Bill Gore, Retired San Diego County Sheriff
February 7, 2024 - David Nisleit, Police Chief, San Diego Police Department
March 6, 2024 - at new location, Hector Jimenez, Deputy District Attorney-Special Operations
April 3, 2024 - Solis Pacela, PACE Program (All Inclusive Care for the Elderly)
May 1, 2024 -  Community updates
June 5, 2024 - Johnathan Vinoskey, Foreman San Diego County Grand Jury 2023-2024
July 3, 2024 - Pete Griffin, SDPD Crisis Intervention Team
August 7, 2024 - Don Wells,  Chief Development Officer, "Just in Time"
September 4, 2024 - Scott Pirrello, Deputy District Attorney
October 2, 2024 -
November 6, 2024 -

Contact Information

All Board Members

President: Skip Kruszona

Vice President: Linda Latimer

Secretary: Deborah Caroccia/Nancy Wolfing

Treasurer:  Christinna Hall

Ann Dell'Acqua, Nancy Wolfing, Mel Stein, Susan Pope, Cheryl Hoech, Mike Hall

Print | Sitemap
Past Grand Jurors Association—Promoting Accountability in Government